Even though agriculture has improved, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem?

There has been increased concern that a majority of people worldwide are suffering from hunger despite agricultural advancements. Socioeconomic factors play a vital role in this unfortunate scenario, as do geographical differences. I believe the actions of governments and non-profit organisations are essential to tackle this matter. One of the main reasons for the occurrence of starving populations is uneven food distribution. While wealthy consumers are overstocking and wasting food, lower-income individuals experience scarcity. As groceries become more expensive over time due to overconsumption and inflation, underprivileged people can no longer afford them. Moreover, some countries suffer from disadvantaged geographical conditions, such as extreme weather and conflicts. For instance, civilians in Gaza have been on the brink of starvation since the start of the war as a result of being cut off from humanitarian aid. Similarly, in parts of Africa and Asia, crops cannot be grown because of drought or floods, leading to extreme food shortages. To solve this matter, governmental organisations are crucial for imposing strict rules and regulations to ensure food is evenly distributed. If grocery prices were regulated, inflation could be controlled. Imposing limitations on the number of items one can buy would not only stop overconsuming, but it could also prevent wasting. In addition, organisations, such as NGOs and the UN, should operate closely with local communities to provide aids efficiently and funding to discover sustainable agricultural practices that are resilient to climate change. When countries can adapt to their extreme conditions to grow crops, starvation will be reduced as they would no longer need to rely on foreign aids and imports. To recapitulate, I firmly believe that governments properly regulating the market pricing would be a necessary first step to ensure every citizen has the means to feed themselves. Nevertheless, climate change and conflicts remain a huge part of this problem that needs to be solved in the long term.