People think that the government should increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles to solve environmental problems. To What extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that the government should make the fuel less affordable for cars and other vehicles to solve the environmental issues. Personally, I agree with this idea because not only the higher fuel price could encourage people to switch to public transport, bikes or even walking but also it could push the large companies to use electric cars and cleaner technology. If the government decides to make the fuel price less affordable by adding extra taxes for each liter, people might switch to public transport and bikes, which are less harmful to the environment. According to the fuel stations, every day dozens of cars arrive for each station to fill up their vehicles with fuel, and the vast majority of them are people with personal cars. Extra taxes for fuel could possibly make the owners of personal automobiles to use public transports, such as buses, trains or even bikes to reach their destiny. For example, in in cities like London and Stockholm because of the higher cost of the fuel citizens prefer to use public transport and bikes contributing to lower carbon emissions in urban areas. Furthermore, price change for fuel could also push companies and large manufacturers to switch to electric vehicles. As today many factories and manufacturers heavily rely on cargo transport, which uses a large amount of fuel and releases higher carbon emissions, it has substantial negative impacts on nature, and if instead they would use electric lorries for transportation, the pollution level could decrease significantly. For examples, most companies in France started to use electric trucks because of the high fuel prices, and as a result they reduced their carbon emissions. In conclusion, I strongly agree that the government should increase the cost of fuel because it could encourage people to use public transport and bikes, and also push companies to switch to electric vehicles, which would be beneficial for the environment.