Television has two roles: to inform and to entertain people. Explain which of these roles you see as more important. To what extent do you think that TV today performs each of these roles in an effective way? Support your point of view with details from your own experiences, observations or reading.

Television provides its audience with important information and entertainment for a long time since its invention. Personally, I think it is more important to broadcast a significant news to the citizen through TV channels. However, I have never seen any news on television which is displayed before it got viral on internet. While informative means of televisional media lost to social media in terms of speed and accuracy, entertainment from the TV broadcast still holds its ground since it cannot be watched from somewhere else. Before smartphones become the main devices that contains every media, television is the main information source for every people. News, stocks, weather forecasts, and many more had been broadcasted through a number of channels. However, there are many times that television had helped in distributing news about upcoming natural disasters, which saves thousands, if not millions of lives across the world overtime. This necessity still stand as I believe that it is the mean that can reach the audience the fastest, and the widest. Nevertheless, when compared with smartphones, immediate alerts and news broadcasting are equal to social media at best. Cell broadcasts that alert through smartphone are even faster now, because a majority of people already have their devices in their pocket unlike televisions placed in the living room. However, when it comes to entertainment, there are so many shows at the current time, that people are still waiting in front of their TV, same time every week, to watch their favorite shows. It is true that social media could also bring entertainment but it cannot fully recreate every show from the TV, resulting in some shows having high ratings even in the age of YouTube and TikTok. In conclusion, in terms of important, television should broadcast more essential news and updats about the world. However, exclusivity of many TV shows makes televisional broadcasts still in trend with internet inside a smartphone.