Topic: Of all the global environmental problems, desertification is, perhaps, the most threatening for poor rural people. Desertification is the expansion of desert lands into previously non-desert areas. What are the causes of this problem? What can be done to solve this problem?

The spread of arid land into fertile land designated for agricultural practices is one of the most devastating environmental threats for people in the rural area. This crisis is heavily due to human activities, which is linked to poverty, mismanagements of lands, and these risks can be mitigated through the combination of governmental policies and sustainable community practices in cultivation. One of the major contributors to the crisis in rural areas is overgrazing, driven by cutting-edge technology and exploitation of artificial substances. As too many crops are grown on fragile land, the micro-organism can’t carry on such intense nutrient demand, farmers can’t afford microbe-fertilizers, and are forced to use cheaper chemical fertilizers. However, excessive exploitation of these substances accumulate over time, not only worsening the microbe community and depending more on the constant use of artificial fertilizer, but also acidifying the lands, eventually turning the land barren. However, this deadly cycle can be mitigated through the combination of both governmental regulations and local community solidarity. By cutting taxes on sustainable agricultural fertilizers, farmers’s arguably largest financial burden would be relieved. Additionally, NGOs should organize campaigns that aim to raise people’s awareness of fertilizers and demonstrate proper ways to use them. Together, with both the social awareness and relieved financial stress, farmers can stop soil degradation and prevent desertification from advancing. On the other hand, deforestation is another significant factor to be considered. The role of forest is crucial for both the soil stability and the local humidity. While tree roots help reinforce the soil structure against future erosion and enrich the local micro-biome with safe shelters on its texture, the leaves help block sunlight, thereby absorbing the intense heat from the sun instead of drying out the land beneath. Additionally, leaves release many water molecules over time, these moisture travel freely in the air, reducing the heat and humidifying the atmosphere. Unfortunately, the growing need for farmland leads to the demolishing of jungles, slowly removing the natural humidifiers that prevent the area from drought and aridity. To tackle this issue, governments should prioritize effective cultivation over expansion. Moreover, farmers can employ modern growing practices in order to glean as much benefit from their limitations. With advanced methods, we can benefit from our limitations, without worsening the domino effect. To sum up, poverty-driven overgrazing exploitation is turning fertile lands into dust. While dual top-down approach and raising people's awareness are necessary to put an end to the potential crisis, without effective execution, even technological advances are unworkable and helpless.