Some people argue that the government should give every unemployed person a mobile phone and should make sure they have access to the Internet. They believe this is the best way of using public money to reduce the problem of unemployment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this modern era, it is undeniable that the economy of every nation depends on technology. Some individuals believe that authorities should provide cell phones with free internet access to jobless people, and this initiative will help to reduce the unemployment problem. I firmly disagree with this notion that the unemployment problem will be uprooted by mobile phones. First of all, with the help of internet, unemployed people can find online jobs with the help of internet. To illustrate, jobless youngsters will search on different websites to find jobs in which they have an interest, and they can also start their own business with the help of the internet to make some money. For instance, as per recent reports, 90% of unemployed people are making money through a freelancer website where they teach children online with the help of the internet. Furthermore, the internet will help unemployed people to learn skills online, such as trading or web design, which will help them earn some income. On the other hand, with a mobile phone, jobless people can get distracted easily because when they use the internet to find jobs, they can start scrolling social media and waste their time and energy, which can ruin their future. To clarify, sometimes people have more interest in social media and are addicted to it. So, when they have free access to the internet and mobile phones, they will forget everything, and start using social media. For example, according to the Department of Digital Media, 70% of youngsters are sitting on social media continuously for about 4-5 hours, and those youngsters are supposed to study rather than use the internet. In conclusion, cell phones will be helpful for youngsters in learning new skills, and also this will help to open their own online business to make some money whereas, mobiles phones with free internet can ruin youngsters ’ lives by wasting their time and energy. In my opinion, the idea to provide mobile phones with internet to solve the problem of unemployment is totally false.