Some countries spend a lot of money preparing competitors to take part in major competitions such as Olympic Games or football World Cup. Some people say that it would be better to spend this money encouraging children to take up sports from a young age. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A sports competition can always be an event gathering people in a country together. With the limited budget, it is meaningful to consider how to effectively allocate money to achieve a win-win situation. I reckon that, compared to investing a large sum of capital in preparing competitors a few years before the significant competition, it is more valuable for the government to raise residents ' interest in participating in relevant exercises. This essay will prove this perspective by analysing the effects of increasing athletes' general quality in the long term and citizens' health statistics. To start with, encouraging children to take up sports from their childhood dramatically increases the total number of residents participating in certain competitions, which directly enlarges the group of people who are potentially eligible to be selected to represent their country in major events. Consequently, the players and teams who come from countries that encourage children to participate in sports possess more competitive skills. For instance, it is well-known that European soccer teams such as Liverpool have provided a great deal of football stars. In contrast, players from China can hardly maintain their performance during the latter part of the game. Since only a small portion of the Chinese are encouraged to learn how to play football from childhood, leading to the phenomenon that the athletes' running speed and duration are much lower, and it is difficult to improve in a short time. Therefore, making the competitions accessible to young people is quite significant. What's more, promoting young people to take part in sports improves their health level, with the following generations' physical capacity rising responsively as well. In the long run, this approach can effectively increase residents ' health data. A case in point is Norway, they have released the policy of "all citizens do exercises" for decades. Children are led by qualified volunteers to go camping around the suburb, with facilities provided by the government inside primary schools. Currently, doing exercise has been part of their DNA, which effectively prevents them from fundamental diseases, such as obesity. This example fully proved that supporting children to participate in sports games benefits future residents physically. Above all, spending more capital to help young citizens approach sports is not only more necessary to prepare for major competitions, but also useful to prevent them from disease. Because of these, the government should invest more money in building infrastructure that supports physical events.