Some health problems are directly linked to people's life choices. Why do people make these choices? What can be done to encourage them to make healthier choices instead?

The scope at which some life choices impact one’s health are much greater than it is generally thought. Therefore, some people tend to adopt self-destructive habits without realizing. As a result, they battle with a lot of health issues. In my opinion, to impact people to opt for healthier choices the root cause of the problem should be tackled, namely the lack of self-respect and high sensitivity to pleasure in some people. In modern society, people tend to knowingly harm their health and there are several reasons for that. Firstly, with the increasing development of technologies, social media users became especially sensitive to dopamine, otherwise known as short-term pleasure. People started prioritizing short-term pleasure over the long-term effects it has on health. Dopamine can be obtained in many ways, some of which include never-ending scrolling on social media, usage of different substances and alcohol. All of these can have detrimental effects on both physical and mental health. Secondly, the lack of self-love for themselves and their body is another reason why some people choosingly harm their health. It is the way by which some individuals demonstrate self-hatred towards themselves. If people willingly started to opt for healthier lifestyles, the overall living span of the population would increase. To achieve this people need to be acknowledged about the effects of their habits. By promoting a healthy way of living, the overall knowledge of the public about the effects of everyday choices will increase. Therefore, resulting individuals to be more aware of their choices. In conclusion, the reasons that stimulate people to opt for choices that negatively impact their health include high-sensitivity to pleasure, as well as personal struggles with mental health. To resolve these issues people need to be acknowledged about the long-term effects these habits cause.