Differences between countries are becoming less evident. Nowadays people are watching the same films, fashion, brands, advertisements and TV channels. To what extent do the disadvantages of this outweigh the advantages?

These days, the world is connected togather more than ever. Advancment in technologies, such as Internet, and streaming applications such as Netflix and Amazon provided a way for people to have access to contents from all over the world. This connection enabled a network for people to share their ideas, and lead to trending for certain films, fashion, and even brands. These trends are affecting the people's choices to the point that the differences between various cultures are fading. On the one hand, when people are following the same patterns, they can become closer to each other. This builds the ground for understanding one another and showing support and empathy towards each other when needed. Additionally, this can help for some information to be a common knowladge, for instance, it benefits the society as a whole, when people know how to detect an abusive behaviour and how to react to it. Also, if the trending fashion or brands are the ones that cause less harm to the earth by having a recycleable materials, or having green foot steps, then having more consumers for those brands is highly beneficial. On the other hand, in my opinion, one of the most beautiful aspects of the world is that different countries have their own culture, fashion and food; following the trends blindly can lead to lossing the valuable uniqueness each country and culture offers. For instance, many countries in the world have their own traditional dresses and customs that is an essential part of their culture, lossing that for following the global fashion would be tragic. In conclusion, I believe following the same trends for movies, fashion and brands can bring people closer to each other and give them a chance to have wiser choices. However, if followed blindly, it can cause the loss of some of the most beautiful differences that show the history and stories of various countries. To sum up, I think in some extent and by remembring to value the cultural differences and try to save them, the advantages of these trendings can outweigh its disadvantages.