IT IS GENERALLY ACCEPTED THAT EXERCISE IS GOOD FOR CHILDREN AND TEENAGERS. THERFORE, PHYSICAL EDUCATION AND SPORT SHOULD BE COMPULSORY FOR ALL STUDENTS IN ALL SCHOOLS. WHAT DO YOU THINK ?

There is a common question of whether students should be forced to study physical education or not. While some individuals argue that it is unnecessary for them to study such a subject, I firmly assert that sports ought to be considered as a mandatory subject in all educational centres due to their physical betterment, and it plays a vital role in pupils’ personal development. This essay aims to provide a comprehensive analysis and offer my own perspective. One of the most compelling reasons why teenagers have to study sports is its positive impact on improving individuals’ physical well-being. In some countries, students are more prone to having a sedentary lifestyle due to excessive screen time and a lack of outdoor activities. As a result, the number of children who suffer from obesity, cardiovascular disease or heart problem are considerably increasing day by day. Therefore, by forcing the youth to be involved in sports and other physical exercises on a daily basis, schools can help them to create healthy habits from an early age. These positive habits are more likely to follow them into adulthood, leading to a fit body and a healthy lifestyle overall. Furthermore, physical education provides benefits to the young generation that extend beyond physical fitness. To illustrate, participating in team sports teaches students essential life skills such as cooperation, teamwork, discipline, and even leadership. These skills are highly valued in academic performance, mediocre life or even in workspace afterwards. What is more, various young people confirmed that regular exercises are actually serves as a tool for reducing stress, improving concentration and enhancing cognitive functions. As a result, sports are not only a compulsory subject in schools, but also work as emotional outlets and improve resilience. In conclusion, I totally agree that sports or physical education should be compulsory in all schools. Not only do they improve teenagers’ health in the long term, but they also help students to gain quality skills, essential for them to enhance academic performances, ordinary lives and even their future work as well, making sports an indispensable part of well-rounded schooling.