Some people believe that university students should pay the full cost of their studies because university education only benefits those students, not the whole of society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The issue of who should pay for university ducation, students or the state, is a much discussed topic and has featured in US presidential elections. It is often true that students gain a lot from a university education in terms of improved career prospects and life opportunities. However, I disagree that they are the only beneficiary and believe that the costs should be shared. The main reason why the cost of university educatio should be shared is because it is crucial for the economic growth of society as a whole. Equipped wih critical thinking, problem-solving, and communication skills, university graduates are often the ones responsible for innovating and creating new technologies that improve the life for everyone. They play an important role contributing to the formation of new jobs and businesses and since the benefits of economic growth are widespread it wouldbe unfair if society did not contribute towards the cost of a tertiary education. Another reason why the cost should be shared is that university education has a significant impact on social stability. By going to university, individuals from disadvantaged backgrounds can break the cycle of poverty and achieve upward social mobility. This not only benefits the individuals but society as a whole. It reduces inequality and fosters a more diverse and inclusive society which is less prone to the instability caused by a resentful disaffected permanent under-class. The resulting increase in social stability is a worthwhile return for the investment of pubulic funds. In conclusion, individual students do benefit from a university education and so does society and thus it is fair that the costs should be shared by both parties. A larger number of university educated graduates leads to higher economic growth and more social mobility. It remains to be decided what proportion of the cost should be the responsibility of the individual and the state, and that is, probably, a more difficult issue to resolve.