Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, many manufactured foods and drinks contain a lot of sugar, which causes many health problems. Some people believe that making these products more expensive is the best way to reduce sugar consumption. I part agree with this option because higher prices make consumers buy fewer sweets, but it is not enough. Firstly, raising a price of sweets is a good idea. When sweets food and drink cost more money, people will spend more time considering before buying them. For example, if both cola and a box of cake become very expensive, students and poor people will buy them less often. Instead, they will choose cheaper and healthier options such as water or fruit juice. As a result, high prices can directly help people reduce their daily sugar in-take. However, changing the price is not enough to solve this problem. Many people are addicted to sweets foods, so they will continue to buy them even if the price is high. To help people effectively, the government should use education for example, schools should teach children about the dangers of eating too much sugar, like tooth decay and obesity. Moreover, there should be more encouragement on consuming healthy food or home meals in advertisement or TV commercials to attract attention from kids and young people. In conclusion, I agree that making sugary foods and drinks more expensive can encourage people to eat less sugar. However, I also believe that education and controlling advertisements are equally important to protect public health in the long team.