Cities are now expanding; should the government make a better network for public transport or should they build more roads to facilitate car ownership? To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is widely acknowledged that city planning requires more attention than ever. While some people believe that authorities ought to provide a better infrastructure for public transport, others think that they ought to support private cars by building more highways. I firmly agree that the government should provide a well-connected transportation system because this can help reduce the risk of traffic accidents and achieve their net zero emission targets. This essay will elaborate on my position with relevant arguments and examples. The foremost reason to support my view is that public transport usage plays a crucial role in increasing safety on the highways. This is because a significant number of people are dedicated to their work and extreme work hours distract their attention from the road when they drive home or to work. As a result, as individuals prefer taking a bus or metro that is driven by well-trained professionals, they don't have to be careful about the road anymore. For instance, the U.K. has a very well-designed metro system, and there are fewer traffic accidents than in India. Therefore, a well-connected public transport have a great impact on safety. Furthermore, another reason to justify my stance is that private cars are a major concern in achieving the governments' zero emission targets. Having a private car, people consume more fossil fuels, leading to an increase in emissions. To illustrate, in the U.S., a significant number of individuals prefer using their cars during commute hours, and this is a major contributor to carbon emissions. Consequently, the government would be unsuccessful in terms of achieving the targets. In conclusion, while some people believe that the government should invest in building more roads to encourage the use of private cars, I firmly maintain that creating safer road environments and reducing carbon emissions by using public transport are more crucial for the government.