Some people think that historical sites should be completely closed to the public. Others,however, believe that it is important for the public to visit these sites. Discuss both viewsand give your opinion.

In the contemporary society, it is common for people to believe that the historical landmarks should be closed to the public, while others think it is crucial for people to visit them. Such views can influence how governments deal with historical sites, as far as I’m concerned, I fully oppose this viewpoint. First and foremost, irreversible damages may be caused to the cultural sites. Specifically, some tourist with no moral may damage the historical sites intentionally including carving signs or even their names on the wall that may result in hairline cracks that threatens the whole structure. For instance, in the tunnel of pyramids in Egypt, words and signs of different languages and cultures are carved on the wall which has been affirmed by experts that the cracks increase the possibility of collapsing. In contrast, experiencing the cultural heritages can enable public to develop a deeper understanding of history and cultural identity. To be more specific, historical information and events are recorded in their structures, designs as well as antiques preserved in them. Only when the historical landmarks are opened to the public, people can get access to the real history understandings and cultivate cultural identity. By way of example, according to research carried in UCL, researchers found that when asking volunteers why they’re proud of their culture, over 70% use cultural heritages as a main part of their view. In summary, although the historical sites could be damaged by tourists, their behavior can be enhanced and corrected by the gradually perfecting law system and such circumstances becomes less in recent years as the morality of folks are more and more developed. On the other hand, the effect of building cultural identity and develop understandings cannot be replaced. Therefore, I fully oppose closing historical landmarks to the public.