Some people think secondary school students should study international news as one of their subjects while others believe that this is a waste of a valuable school time. Discuss both the views and give your own opinion.

While some people argue that students have to study the world as a new subject, others believe it wastes valuable learning time. I believe that understanding global affairs is crucial, but it should be incorporated into history or geography classes. On the one hand, critics argue that introducing international information as a separate subject is unnecessary. Firstly, school curricula are already overcrowded with important subjects like math and languages. As long as governments add such a subject, it will be just an overload for students and reduce the time spent on basic, necessary subjects. Besides, daily data is highly volatile. That is why it is a waste of their time and puts pressure on them. On the other hand, others believe that understanding global affairs is essential in today’s globalised world.Learning about international events fosters global awareness and critical thinking, and it can lead to students distinguishing between reliable facts and fake news. Therefore that is important to create the separate class or subject for international news. It brings about a bright and peaceful future. In conclusion, I think having a separate class for world news is a waste of time. Instead of this, teachers should talk about such global news during history or geography lessons. It helps students learn about the world faster without making the school schedule too busy.