Some people believe that schools should include competitive sports as a subject while others believe that it has negative effects on children. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Competitive sports can be an important part of the school curriculum as they teach essential values, such as discipline. While some believe such sports need to be included as a subject, others argue they can negatively impact the children. This essay will discuss both views and my opinion is that such sports are necessary for children because sports competitions promote fitness starting from a young age. One of the primary reasons why people support this view is because competitive sports can instill discipline in young children. This is largely because, when individuals prepare for sports tournaments, they are expected to follow a regular diet and exercise plan to meet the competition standards. By maintaining a strict routine, young pupils can learn to gain control over their lives through athletic challenges. A clear example of this can be seen in athletes who have been in athletics since childhood as they have well regulated lifestyles in the process of meeting competition standards. Therefore, competitive physical activities as a school subject may teach great values to the students. Although it is true that rivalry sports offer several benefits, critics argue that rivalry sports set up young kids against each other. A key factor behind this view is that when children compete with each other in such competitions, they may end up feeling jealous of the winners. If youngsters see people cheering for the winning parties, their self esteem may get lowered and they might develop the emotion of envy and jealousy. A relevant example can be seen in the case of kids who do not get selected for state competitions as they lose and end up feeling down and envious of those who win. Consequently, the negative influence of rivalry are understandable. In conclusion, athletic challenges encourage youngsters to stay disciplined, but they can also fill them with negative emotions. Overall, despite the shortcomings of sports that include rivalry, they can have a long-term positive influence on students.