In recent years, there has been a rise in the popularity of second-hand clothing amongst the younger generation. Why is this happening? Do you think it’s a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, the trend of buying second-hand items is growing significantly among the young generation instead of buying new ones. This happens due to the influence of social media, which heavily promotes such things on various platforms. I think it is a negative development because I believe it creates emotional discomfort and raise hygiene problems. One of the main reasons of following this trend is the usage of social media applications, where influencers show their concerns towards environmental problems. By promoting second-hand clothing on it, helps people to reuse and recycle of clothing than throw it away. Youngsters love to wear these clothes because it gives them Vintage look, and by wearing it also reduce the waste from the economy. For example, most of thrift stores, and Value village are offering these clothes at cheaper prices than the price of Zara, Nike, and H&M. Even some youngsters got 70-80% off on these products by investing a small amount on it. However, despite these benefits, I still consider it as a negative development. Undoubtedly, the idea of pre-worn clothing is financially constrained, and have a smart choice by young generation. But I think, wearing someone's clothes may create a sense of discomfort among them because of having different body shape, and sizes. Moreover, people may experience bacteria, skin allergies or sweat residue by wearing old stuff, if they are not sanitized properly. For instance, many thrift stores receive huge donations from dwellers, and they do not have facilities to deep clean, which may cause skin infections later. In conclusion, although the craze of wearing old outfits are increasing significantly among new generations due to the influence of social media, I believe this trend has negative consequences, which create the question of proper hygiene and emotional feelings.