In many countries, people are spending more time at work and less time with their family. Why is this happening? What effects can this have on individuals and their families?

Nowadays, working hours are increasing at an alarming rate. Simultaneously, family time is decreasing at the same rate. This trend is mainly driven by rising living costs and growing workplace competition. As a result, it can negatively affect both individuals' well-being and family relationships. To begin with, the rising living cost is one of the most prime reasons for this situation. Along modernization, people are trying to live an up-to-date lifestyle. This costs them a lot, which ultimately increases pressure on their shoulder to earn enough to afford everything. Consequently, working hours are surging rapidly to meet modern demands of the people. Moreover, competition in the job market is changing and it is forcing people to become more sophisticated at their works. Hence, people tend to work more to get more work experience in order to become expert for their job market. However, this working trend leads to negative effects on individuals and their families. Workers often feel stressed and burnt out after long shifts. This further increases anxiety, self-doubts and sleep deprivations. Working extra hours not only affects their physical health but also affects their mental health as psychological disorders are increasing in numbers among young workers of the job markets. Also, communication gap between workers and their family is widening and this is creating misunderstanding. This enables loneliness and trust issues to penetrate individual hearts and make them feel sad. To conclude, due to inflation, workload is obvious and necessary, but every working person should balance their work-life relationship so that their physical and mental health stay healthy.