Some people believe that there should be fixed punishment for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment.

It is often argued that a certain set of penalties ought to be determined for every criminal offense. While I understand the reasoning behind the view, I feel that it is necessary to weigh on the circumstances and motivation regarding the crime before establishing the sanction. In the sense of justice, assault is never right, whatever the reasons. That is why, the symbol of justice is wearing blindfold. Although it may look heartless, the belief that no one can measure someone motivation is one of the reasons. The desire that rises when executing the crime can not be weight into numbers because in the first place, it can not be seen. When the mind of the defendant can not be read, the reasons that trigger the crime can not be dismissed. It is the nature of a living being to react when being attacked. Where the choice of flight is limited or even none, instinctively, the mind chooses to attack. Therefore, before the judge states the sanction hearing is being held for the defendant to explain why the grievous event happened. With both opinions are right, I believe that crime does happend with different reasons. The story behind the event needs to be studied before punishment is decided. Humanity can not just decide with numbers. The tragedy of someone's life by the doing of someone else, cannot be seen just by the result. In conclusion, although some people believe that fixed punishment regardless of the reasons is ideal, I strongly feel that reasons are behind all the tragedy.