Many countries have laws banning phone use while driving.However, some drivers still violate these regulations by usingmobile phones while driving. What are the reasons for this behaviour? What are the most effective solutions to this problem?

In many countries, using a phone while driving is forbidden. However, there are still some drivers who disobey these laws by using mobile phones while driving. In this essay, I will explain why these drivers behave that way and what we can do to better solve this problem. In my opinion, there are some reasons why they choose to ignore the laws. Firstly, drivers tend to believe the negative consequences would never happen to them. To be specific, the possibility of an individual experiencing a life-threatening car accident is not very high; thus, they would rather accept such risks to reduce time costs. Secondly, the punishments for people using mobile phones while driving lack a serious effect. They usually just include some small fine or verbal warnings from the police. Also, detecting a driver’s behaviour in a moving car is difficult, so most of the time they will not be punished. Additionally, the increasing dependence on mobile phones has also increased the need to check and responding messages in time; these social pressures make people more willing to ignore the risks. To solve this problem more effectively, we need stricter punishments, better detection technology and more widespread education. In terms of the punishment, a higher fine should be included. The violating behaviour should also be recorded on the license, and the license should be revoked if the violation reaches a certain number of times. For technology, we should develop better equipment for phone use detection in cars or a better prevention system in phones, such as automatically switching to driving mode when the car is moving, and only allowing basic emergency contacts in it. Finally, we should provide more education about car accidents and assist people in building a clearer recognition of their consequences. In conclusion, the reasons why drivers ignore the laws of phone use while driving include wishful thinking, lack of sufficient penalty, difficulties in detecting violation and dependence on mobile phones. To better solve this problem, we should impose stricter penalties, develop supportive equipment and increase people’s recognition.