The best way to protect the environment is to use local resource, such as food or building materials rather than transporting resources from other places. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

I strongly disagree that to use local resource, such as food or building materials rather than transporting resources from other places is the single best solution to protect the environment. While using local resource may be an efficient way to protect the environment by cutting transport pollution, other protections should also be taken into account. Even though compared with transporting resources from other places,using local food or building materials is more eco-friendly as it can reduce carbon emissions, which can help slow global warming, it also has other serious problems which cause environmental damage, like over-exploit natural resources. If local resources are abused a lot, many factories and individuals might concentrate on getting energy while ignore the environment protecting. For instance, to get enough woods to build a building, too many woods may be cut down, which can not only destroy wildlife habitats, but also be harmful to ecosystems. In addition, relying solely on local food production would intensify the pressure on food production and lead to problems such as rapid loss of soil nutrients. Furthermore, there are more impactful environmental protection measures. First, strict government regulations on industrial or agricultural waste can mainly solve the carbon emissions. Second, renewable energy, including solar and wind power, can take place of traditional fossil fuel and be good for global warming. In conclusion, consuming local food and materials is a small step to reduce transport-related pollution. However, it is far from the best way to protect the environment due to the risk of local resource over-exploit.