Governments should impose a significantly higher tax on fast food and sugary drinks to encourage people to adopt healthier eating habits. To what extent do you agree or disagree

Many governing bodies are introducing high taxes on junk food and sweet beverages to promote a healthier lifestyle. I agree with this approach and believe that this will encourage people to adopt a better dietary choices. Imposing high taxes on fast food will force people to make food at home at an affordable price. Owing to this, if the prices of junk food spike, it will encourage people to shop groceries and make healthy meal at home since the price of junk food can only get them a one time meal whilst cooking at home. For example, high costs on fast food encourages a lot of workers in New Delhi to make food at home. As a result, this approach can encourage people to adopt better dietary choices. High costs on sugary drinks will also encourage people to choose more healthier alternatives. To elaborate, introducing smoothies, homemade juices and drinks at home will likely to swift their approach from sugar beverages to these infused fruit drinks. People can make these at home with the help of youtube videos and they will know what type of healthy ingredients they are putting inside the drink. As a result, imposing high taxes will improve people's health in the long term. Contrary to the above opinion, increasing taxation alone on fast food and sugary drinks will help people to adopt a healthier lifestyle. The government should allocate a significant investment in implementing more gyms and recreational centres. This can encourage people to stay fit and lean. However, by doing so this will not completely push people to avoid eating out so introducing high costs ought to be taken into consideration. In conclusion, although implementing more gyms in the society benefit people to become healthy, imposing high taxes on the fast food and drinks should encourage people to adopt a healthier lifestyle and will be likely to benefit people's health in the long term.