It is often said, “when in Rome, do as the Roman do”. Do you think people should adapt and accept the culture of the country they visit? Do you think it is possible to learn a culture without learning the language?

Certain individuals believe that when temporarily residing in a nation, they need to make efforts to integrate into the culture of that country. Some also take this point further, and are under the impression that they must familiarize themselves with that location's language in order to learn local traditions. I think that people should make active efforts to respect the places they visit, but only to an extent where the locals are not bothered by their presence. Firstly, when one is visiting a nation, they should respect the customs and the indigenous people of that location, in order to not disturb them. In many situations, the person visiting may find themselves in awkward situations, especially if they do not adjust to the norms of wherever they are visiting, and thus annoy locals. For example, in Arabic nations it is common to let the person on your right pass through a door first, if one does not they may bump into somebody and this causes trouble for both parties. While this awkwardness may be unintentional, not knowing commonplace Arabic manners has disgruntled both parties in this situation. Secondly, for the individual visiting the experience will be better if they are more familiarized with the traditions of the nation they are in. An excellent example of this would be a visitor displaying knowledge about one's country, and then the host gifting them with a treat for being so knowledgable. I have had such an experience many times when visiting countries, since people appreciate caring guests. When it comes to language, it is not an absolute necessity in order to be able to connect on a cultural level with certain groups. While it can be helpful, especially when travelling alone, guests can accomodate for this by simply translating. A common occurence of this is seen when tourists visit the Acropolis in Athens with a tour guide, and many times they end up knowing more than even the locals do. Furthermore, while language is important in providing certain nuance when travelling, tourists can understand the culture of the location they are travelling to by doing more research. When I was planning to stay in Oman for a week, in preparation I researched the customs of the Omani people, common food traditions, and how to appropriately dress when visiting. This made my trip much more fun, without having to speak any Arabic. In conclusion, I agree that tourists must comply with the common practices of the places they visit. However, I do not deem it necessary for them to learn the local dialect, in order to enjoy their stay.