We are living in a throw-away society and things are used in a shorter period I of time and thrown away. What are the causes of this phenomenon and what problems might it cause?

In this fast-paced world, individuals use things for a shorter period of time, although the product has longevity. The products are being thrown-away after a short-term use for their availability, affordability, and to follow the fashion trend. This causes an adverse impact on the contemporary society. This essay will discuss the causes and the problems associated with it. The primary reason for this phenomenon is that products are much cheaper and available nowadays, compared to the past. In this competitive era of business, manufacturers sell goods with a lower profit margin. Sometimes manufacturers make single- use products just for profit without thinking of the consequences it has on the environment, for example, single- use plastics. Additionally, with the emergence of e-commerce, consumers can buy things in a matter of moments, and people often buy things for momentary happiness without actual need. As a result, products are thrown away after a short period of use. Consequently, individuals buy items or garments just for fashion trends. After using a couple of days these items are thrown-away, as new trendy products appear on the market. However, this mindset has a severe effect on our society. It can cause environmental degradation, and lead to pollution and poor waste management. As people use things for short-term and dump them, these things directly go into the dump-yard, and make it harder for the concerning authority to manage waste. Consequently, the shorter life-cycle products made for consumers convenience, such as single- use plastic, cannot be dissolved within a 500-year period, which ultimately leads to environmental degradation. Furthermore, these single- use plastics are often dumped into the river or ocean, which may leads to biodiversity loss. In conclusion, to save the environment and for proper waste management manufacturers and consumers should be aware of using single- use products and swap things if they have life span.