In some countries criminal trials in law courts are shown on television so that the general public can watch. Do the advantages of allowing this overweigh the disadvantages?

In some nations, the whole public can watch criminal cases in law courts on television. Although this has some advantages, I strongly believe that broadcasting criminal cases on television has negative impacts on people's mental health and decision makers' lives. This disadvantages outweigh the advantages. One major advantage of wathcing criminal cases on TV is that as criminals receive extremely severe penalties, it deters people from commiting a crime. This is because people see that committing a crime is not worth it, as they pay for it with their lives, and as a result, it reduces the criminal rates. Another advantage is that governments need well-educated and skilled lawyers and judges for their justice departments. Broadcasting criminal trials on TV programmes has a considerable influence on young people education preferences. Because they see judges and lawyers, who are respected figures in people's eyes, adolescents want to become a judge or a lawyer. Consequently, this helps fulfill governments' needs. For instance, some law school students share their experiences of how they chose this major, and they generally say that they watched a significant number of series, criminal cases, and movies about crime. Therefore, it has positive effects on adolescents' educational preferences and contributes to a reduction in crime rates. Firstly, broadcasting the faces of decision makers on TV can put them at risk, as it may trigger criminals' associates to attempt assassination, which in turn could influence judges' rulings. Secondly, these programmes has some sensitive content which has detrimental effect on people mental health. This is because watching violence, dead bodies, and victims of crime triggers empathy in viewers. As a result, people struggle to focus on their daily lives without thinking about these victims. To illustrate, friends of mine who watch these programmes suffer from mental health issues and have to receive professional help to overcome them. Hence, it has a detrimental effect on people's daily lives. In conclusion, while broadcasting criminal cases has some advantages, I firmly maintain that it has negative impacts on people's mental health and professionals' lives. Thus, these drawbacks outweigh the advantages.