Some people think that social networking sites have a negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extend to you agree or disagree ?

Nowadays, it is a common view that surfing on socal media platforms causes some unfavorable effects on many people and communities. I largely agree with this view because this poses significant threats to people’s health both mentally and physically. To start with, it is widely acknowledged that modern communication technology makes our lives convenient and efficient. To be specific, internet users can connect with friends and familes in just one click and share life experiences through social media apps, such as Facebook and Instagram. For example, decades ago, students who studied overseas used to spend large amounts of time and money on international calls to report their parents that they lived safe and sound. By contrast, pupils currently just post their daily photos and check in on social medica, and parents can share they joy without delay. On the other hand, however, excessive browsing social websites could bring serious problems to users by cultivating addictive patterns and distracting them from the study and work. As a result, students have less concentration on academic studies due to constantly srolling websites and checking friends’ posts, leading to less competitive academic achievements. Furthermore, it also poses serious safety issues for society. For example, some vehicle drivers cannot consistently follow rules but streaming on social medica platform while driving, which could cause deadly traffic accidents and put pedestrians in danger. Additionally, scientists express concerns about overly checking likes or dislikes on social networks because it puts enormous pressure on teenagers and even adults, lead to mental health problems for society. To summarize, while the innovated communication technology shortens the distance between people around the world, it also brings serious public health issues and pose threats to nationas and their citizens. Therefore, I believe that the drawbacks of this trend outweigh the benefits.