Many people try to achieve success through their career or education. What can success mean to different people? What is your view of success? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 word

Many people share the opinion that academic achievements and career milestones define success. For some, success does not deviate far from this definition, yet for others, career and academics play no role in their sense of fulfillment. For me, a person that is able to balance their career prospects and their family life is somebody I would call succesful. In many fields, career and academics define success. This is especially evident in highly competitive and research dominated fields, where peers compete with one another for publications and recognition. For instance, in medicine, most physicians would describe a succesful doctor as one who is the head of their word, or has achieved the most publications in their hospital. In this field, success is very closely tied to these milestones and academic excellence. On the contrary, for other professions, academics and career achievments may play no role in their definition of success. Not every person works, and not every person even reaches higher levels of education, yet they may describe themselves as succesful. That is not because they are wrong in their description, but rather they possess another mindset when it comes to success. A common occurrence of this would be a house-wife. Despite not having a "job", they still work tirelessly at home on a daily basis. Many house wives would describe success as being a good mother, or raising their kids well. Thus, people define success very differently from one another, and I believe a mix of these two beliefs is where I stand. In order for me to consider myself successful, I would have to be a great father. Family is extremely important to me, and thus I cannot consider myself high-achieving if that comes at the expense of my own family. For example, a lawyer who has reached the status of the best in the country, but spends no time with his loved ones, would not be someone I would consider successful. High achievements alone do not equate to success for me. Since I operate in the medical sphere, my main priority in terms of my career, is to treat as many patients as I can, to the highest level possible, while still being a good father. Therefore, if my family feels neglected, I could treat thousands of patients and still would not describe myself as successful. In conlusion, for some success is fully dependent on the progression of their careers and their involvement in academia, and for others these factors do not even play a role. For me, a combination of the two definitions suits best what I would like to achieve out of my life.