Some people think that government funding for schools should be spent on science subjects rather than on other subjects. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Certain individuals are under the belief that scientific subjects should receive a majority of the budget allocated to schools by the government. I strongly disagree, as I believe that all paths students wish to pursue need to be equally encouraged. This can only be achieved by applying comparable spending to all facets of learning involved in school education. Firstly, if the sciences receive more funding, it will create unequal opportunities for those who would not wish to not pursue careers in their related fields. Many students do not need to take sciences in order to continue their preferred career path, but would still be affected by this decision. For example, if a student is interested in the arts, but takes no scientific subjects, they will receive worse supplies to pursue their passion. Thus, this creates an unequal environment, placing students pursuing science at an advantage in comparison to their peers. Moreover, this inequality may deter students from pursuing what they truly desire. In order to receive the benefits of the larger budgets these subjects use, students may not take disciplines they are more interested in. For instance, if a student is interested in becoming an athlete, but their institution neglects sport, they might opt to take the overfunded chemistry course, despite not having any affinity towards chemistry. This is unfair for students who do not desire to follow such paths, or who may be incorrectly encouraged to take them. The sciences are more demanding than other courses in terms of expenditure. Chemistry, biology and physics all require expensive lab equipment to be purchased and used. Without this equipment, these disciplines would not be taught effectively. A common occurence of this is seen in the subject of chemistry, where students need to use titration equipment in order to make calculations and solve chemical equations. At the same time, I think that this fact should not be used to underfund other programmes, as they too have important expenditures. In conclusion, the expensive equipment used in science makes it seem like spending should be focused on these areas of schooling. However, I believe that, despite this fact, we must make conscious efforts to achieve high quality in all areas of schooling, in order to not discourage pupils from pursuing the careers they are most passionate about.