Nowadays people waste a lot of food that was bought from shops and restaurants. Why do you think people waste food? What can be done to reduce the amount of food they throw away?

It is true that an excessive amount of food purchased from stores and restaurants is being wasted. This phenomenon can be attributed to several factors, which necessitates the adoption of various solutions to address the situation. There are various explanations as to why people waste so much food. One possibility is that some customers usually purchase excessive amounts of food in the retail sector, which contributes to the problem of food waste. The reason for this behaviour is that stores regularly run promotional campaigns that encourage customers to buy more than they need. As a result, some perishable food can spoil quickly and thus eventually go to waste. Another point worth mentioning is that over-ordering in dining establishments can lead to discarded food. In fact, some restaurants offer a wide range of dishes with large portion sizes, which means that customers often order more than their actual consumption capacity. This can result in a substantial amount of uneaten food, thereby being wasted. Various measures, nevertheless, can be implemented to address these issues. The first possible solution is that changing shopping habits acts as a barrier to impulse buying. For example, meal planning in advance and preparing detailed shopping lists before going to the supermarket prevents customers from buying too many unnecessary items, especially those triggered by promotions. The second approach is that restaurants should implement strict policies to prevent diners from over-ordering. For instance, some buffet restaurants in Vietnam introduce extra charges for customers who leave too much food unconsumed. This forces customers to become more responsible and careful with what they order, which effectively reduces the volume of leftovers. In conclusion, many reasons can be given to explain why a large amount of food is being wasted, such as retail promotions and large restaurant portions. However, I believe that through better meal planning and the implementation of stricter restaurant policies, this situation can be significantly improved.