The population of major cities around the world is increasing very fastly. Why is this the case and what measures could be taken to solve this issue.

Large cities are becoming more densely populated at rapidly increasing rates. This happens due to better work opportunites being present in large cities, which comes at the cost of smaller towns decreasing in size. Nations must intervene and aid the economies of smaller cities in order to promote their growth. Many high earning jobs are available only in major cities, especially for certain career paths. Therefore, people relocate from their home towns, in pursuit of higher earnings and better career prospects. For example, most large law firms are based in urban locations, thus attracting lawyers pursuing better earnings to move near them. As shown, people opt for bigger cities over alternative locations, due to higher quanitity and quality of opportunites being available. In order to combat this, governments can offer subsidies to people pursuing certain career paths that are more present in rural towns. Due to modern urbanization, many rurally based financial sectors have suffered great losses, both in terms of their production, and in terms of their profit. The government must step in and help these sectors thrive, or the problem will continue to deteriorate. For instance, farmers are struggling to make profits currently, but with the help of subsidies they have been able to maintain relative stability. In order to grow sectors like farming, governments must step in at the national level, or else such markets will continue to regress. This could entice people to stay out of larger cities, due to good opportunities being present locally. In conclusion, individuals choose to move to larger cities in pursuit of more lucrative and promising careers. In order to diminish the effects of this issue, governments must step in and aid the citizens in less populated regions of their countries.