The number of elderly people in the world is increasing. What do you think are the positive and negative effects of this trend?

It is observed that many nations all around the world are facing tremendous increase in number of old people. This trend is beneficial because countries would not encounter unemployment and would consist of wiser people who may advise on the functioning of the state. However, it would certainly put an adverse impact on the workforce, and revenue of the state as the authorites would be liable for their well being. To begin with, people who are in their old age do not intend to work and are moslty retired. This is because they already spend most of their life in employment, and intend to spend the rest of it by remaining idle or pursuing their hobbies. Furthermore, many of the people in old generation are intellectuals who could be poved useful in the advising the governance in better functioning. For example, in India, many retired court judges are part of commissions formulated by the state for their smooth operation. On the other hand, a nation do require the young workforce to do jobs which are impossible for any other age factor. For example, recruitment in the army is mainly done with adults who are still in their tweenties. This would put such employment sectors in harms way. Additionally, elderly generation is proved to be a liablity on the countries as they tend to have more health problems, and they require a certain amount in montly pension because they are not working. For example, in Canada elder people are getting pension benefits and health benefits monthly by the government which is ultimately puting a dent in their financial resources. In conclusion, elderly generation do bring in certain developmental aspects with them as they are a better advisor to the state, and they remove completition in job sector by leaving it for the young. But they also require assistance in free healthcare by the state, and countries could get adversely impacted due to labor shortage.