In some countries, student pay their college or university fees, while in some others, the government pays for them. Do the advantages of governments paying for fees outweigh the disadvantages.

In some nations, while higher education tuition fees are covered by governments, others are paid by students. Although this system has some disadvantages, the benefits - such as accessible education for everyone- can be far greater. On the one hand, the tuition fees that are paid by governments are a large portion of the nation's budget, resulting in the risk of an enormous economic burden. This is because, free education draws the attention of millions of students to pursue their higher education, which requires more facilities, workers and teachers that are essential for a university or a college. Having these accumulated costs, governments allocate more resources to support education than other fields, such as healthcare and public transportation. As a result, nations may struggle to maintain the quality of other public services, such as well-equipped hospitals or well-connected transportation systems. For instance, in Turkey, where the tuitions are paid by the government, the Turkish economy, which is not going well loses its strength because these costs form a large portion of the budget. Thus, the tuition fees have a negative impact on countries ' budgets when they are paid by governments. On the other hand, accessible education plays a crucial role in providing an affordable opportunity to poor families that live paycheck to paycheck. Universities and colleges need students who are smart and passionate about research. These different classes in the universities can form a multicultural environment that can enhance scientific research quality because education is not a right exclusive to the affluent class. As a result, countries can become leading nations in various fields. To illustrate, Nordic countries such as Finland and Norway, where the tuition fees are covered by the government, scientific research quality shows higher performance than other countries, particularly in computer science, leading them to constitute new start-up companies like AI companies. Therefore, an affordable education provides accessibility for each citizen, which provides more well-developed research. In conclusion, although tuition fees paid by the government place a considerable burden on the national budget, the advantages — such as improving academic research and providing equal opportunities for all citizens — far outweigh this financial drawback, ultimately enabling countries to become leaders in various fields.