Some parents give their children everything or accept whatever their children want to do. Is this good for the children? What could be the consequences for these children when they grow up? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is argued that some parents give their children everything they want and allow them to do whatever they like. Others believe that this approach may lead to bad consequences for children when they grow up, and it can normally lead to detrimental effects on a child's development. This essay will argue that although rooted in good intentions, excessive indulgence ultimately prevents children from maturing into self-sufficient adults. It is bad for the children's development due to their parents ' over-indulgence and permissive parenting. The first thing is that over-indulgence can make children believe that they will always get what they want without making any effort. It leads to children who are used to getting everything they want may throw tantrums whenever their parents say no. For example, there are many short videos capturing children yelling and rolling around on the ground when they do not get what they want. And then they always get what they want. Moreover, with permissive parenting, children will not have boundaries and face severe consequences for their personal development. A lack of discipline during childhood may have severe effects on future success. When they grow up, they may find it difficult to deal with rejection in life, such as being turned down for a job. For instance, many this kind of adults in their 30s or 40s return to their childhood homes after failing job interviews. They completely give up trying and live off their parents for the rest of their lives. Spoiled children may suffer from low resilience when they encounter challenges later in life. In conclusion, giving children everything they want can cause severe damage to their independence and sense of responsibility. Parents should set reasonable boundaries and encourage responsibility so that their children can become independent and resilient adults.