Do you think the increase use of social media is positive or negative? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In recent years, there has been a growning trend towards using social media platforms in every single aspect of life. While some people view this as a cause of concern, I firmly believe it is a highly positive technological tool due to the significant benefits it brings to both the individual and society. One major reason why this is a positive technology is that it helps individuals to enhance their knowledge and access information more easily. Moreover, social apps facilitate the way of obtaining knowledge and make it more accessible and digitalised. For instance, if you go to the YouTube app and search for a specific topic, you will immediately get thousands of results related to your search. Furthermore, the search engine has algorithms that provide suitable information based on your search. The rapid obtainability of any information has resulted in improving one’s knowledge that would not be possible without the easy access of social media platforms. Another noteworthy advantage of these social apps is that it makes communication much easier than before. Nowadays, you can with one click, call or text your family and friends even if you are in a different place. For example, WhatsApp and other chat apps are the greatest inventions in the whole world that facilitate the way we get in touch with our community. Moreover, if you are a teacher, these platforms assist you in making digital groups, so sharing useful information with your students will be accessible at any time. In conclusion, although the rapid use of social media has some minor drawbacks, I believe it is overall a positive trend for its great impact on improving one’s own knowledge through useful apps, and the right utilisation of these social media apps removes the distance and maintains the closeness between family and friends.