Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Many kids allocate a significant portion of their daily time towards the use of personal electronic devices. This is largely due to the fact that many smartphone softwares are designed to provide addictive entertainment for the younger generation. Furthermore, busy parents are likely to gift smartphones to their offspring in order to keep them occupied. I strongly believe this to be a negative development that deteriorates a child's emotional and physical health. In the contemporary era, many corporations develop applications designed to keep the younger demographic occupied. As a result, employed guardians see smartphones as a convenient tool to keep their kids company when they are not available to do so themselves. While it is undeniable that the assitance of smart devices is helpful for parents in many cases, it is important to recognize that the encouragement of a consistent use of smartphones has a range of negative effects on developing youngsters. Due to the excessive use of technological devices, many under aged individuals prioritize spending time on their phone rather than playing outside. Consequently, kids do not get a sufficient amount of daily interactions with their peers required to properly shape their social skills as adults. Therefore, the lack of communication skills could potentially not only negatively affects a minor's long-term development, but also hurt their ability to navigate their place in society as adults. Furthermore, the excessive prioritization of time spent in-doors rather than outside results in a fewer physical activity. A consistent lack of movement is often linked to complications in an individual's health. For instance, a child refusing to step outside in favor of playing on his phone will not recieve the excercise required for his age, which poses a major threat for the development of his well-being. To conclude, parents choosing smartphones as a means to keep their youngsters busy is the root cause of higher screentime rates in the under aged demographic. This is an adverse phenomenon due to the harmful impact it has on the healthy development of many kids in both physical and mental aspects.