Write an essay of 250 words on the topic below. Plastic is useful, but can also damage the environment. How can people reduce the amount of plastic they use in their day-to-day life? Discuss vour ideas and support them with reasons and examples.

Plastic is an inexpensive and convenient material used by major corporations as well as people on an everyday basis. However, it is quite dangerous to our environment and the animals we share it with. Small changes to people's daily routines like using cloth bags and reusable bottles would have a significant impact on plastic consumption. Firstly, one of the most notable uses of plastic is in grocery stores to package produce. In my experience, supermarket employees often use two plastic bags for heavier items to prevent them from tearing. If people instead decided to bring their own cloth bags, there would be a significant difference in the amount of single-use plastic in a day. Additionally, it is also beneficial to the customer since cloth bags would have more tensile strength, making it more reliable to carry heavier things. Similarly, the usage of plastic bottles is one of the largest contributions to damaging the environment as well. The convenience of being able to purchase a cheap, one time use plastic bottle is the allure for most people to not have to carry their own reusable bottles. However, if people brought their own bottles, while reducing plastic consumption, it would also be a healthier option. Plastic bottles are often transported for long periods of time under conditions of heat or even kept in conditions which make drinking from such bottles injurious to our health. In conclusion, if people included a small change in their daily habits with regards to their plastic usage, there would be a large scale impact on the damage it does to not only the environment but also the creatures that are affected by it. Bringing a cloth bag for groceries and making sure to carry your own water bottle are small inconveniences to tackle a much larger problem.