In the future, all cars, busses and vehicles will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles will outweight the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant exmaples.

Automation within vehicles is a trend the world has been shifting towards for years, thus in the future, the only people travelling within vehicles will be the passengers. While this may be advantageous in a variety of ways, my contention is that the benefits of such technology will not outweigh the disadvantages. There are a multitude of advantages to autonomous transit, ranging from safer road conditions, to saving hours of valuable time. Beginning with road safety, a vast number of accidents while driving are as a result of the person behind the wheel. Driving under the influence, falling asleep behind the wheel after a tiresome day, or even a potential heart attack/stroke are common causative factors for life-threatening accidents. Hence, with a driverless vehicle, such circumstances would no longer exist, making the roads safer for both passengers and pedestrians. Additionally, in order to be a responsible driver, it is imperative that the driver focus solely on the road. In my experience, being from Bangkok, a city with heavy traffic conditions, this can mean being stuck behind the wheel for hours. Being able to simply be a passenger for that duration, would let me use my valuable time accomplishing other tasks. On the other hand, a large population of the working class would be negatively affected by the introduction of self-driving transportation. Taxi drivers, bus drivers, and chauffeurs, who all make their living driving people to their destination, lose their jobs. Due to the sheer popularity of such jobs, unemployment would drastically increase, especially in countries that rely on tourism. For instance, in Thailand, a country whose economy is driven by tourists who use its public transport, this would be quite harmful. Another aspect of driving that is often overlooked is the human connection. Oftentimes when you take an Uber or get into a taxi in a foreign country, you end up conversing with the driver. This time, getting to know another person, learning their story, or simply getting recommendations for places to visit is invaluable. I believe it brings us closer together as a community, a virtue that is slowly disappearing, largely due to the introduction of technology. In conclusion, while there are several benefits to a society where we have driverless vehicles, like a reduction in highway accidents, I believe these advantages do not outweigh the risks. Taking away jobs from thousands of people, contributing to unemployment, as well as diminishing human connection, are sacrifices that I do not believe make it worth it to have driverless transportation.