Learning English language at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local language and, if so, how?

In today's rapidly evolving world, some argue that learning English has become more significant than learning local languages at school. While learning English can have a positive impact on people's lives, I firmly believe that both individuals and policymakers should share the responsibility to protect local languages, mainly because they are instrumental in cultural preservation. One major advantage of learning English is that it enables people to deepen their understanding of various subjects, such as cultural heritage and science, while developing essential skills, including communication, creativity, and critical thinking. As a result, people can make progress in both personal and professional settings, since English is considered an international language and most scientific articles are written in this language. For instance, learning English provides individuals with various job opportunities all around the world and contributes significantly to communicating with people from diverse cultural backgrounds, thereby allowing them to increase their awareness of different traditions and improve their living standards. Thus, this language acts as a catalyst for interpersonal and social growth by exposing people to a wide range of information. However, it is more essential that both lawmakers and the public implement effective measures to preserve local languages, since such languages play a vital role in preserving traditions and national identity. To tackle this issue, policymakers should support language festivals and encourage people to participate in these events. This gives rise to improved public awareness of cultures and traditions and bridges the gap between younger and older generations. People should also speak local languages with their children at home to develop their fluency and understanding of their local languages. As an example, in developing countries such as Iran, lawmakers annually hold language festivals and allow students to learn about local languages at school and university, which contributes to the survival of Turkish, Kurdish, and Gilaki. Hence, such measures can not only ensure the survival of local languages but also promote social awareness of diverse cultures. To sum up, from my perspective, although learning English can serve as a stepping stone for personal and professional development, it is much more significant that local languages are preserved to achieve beneficial outcomes in the long term, because they are an integral part of a country's history and identity.