The government should make people responsible to protect the local environment. Do you agree or disagree?

It is widely acknowledged that citizens should take responsibility to protect their local environment. While there are several understandable reasons behind such assertions, I still contend that the government should do more to protect the environment. On the one hand, some people's lifestyles have detrimental effects on the environment. First of all, individuals emit a large amount of carbon dioxide in their daily lives. For example, when they drive their private vehicles frequently, they produce more greenhouse gases, which may intensify global warming events. As a result, it would affects other wild animals' habitats. Secondly, some factories tend to discharge waste into rivers. The main reason is that companies dump toxic substances into rivers to reduce their financial cost. In this way, this contaminated water may be consumed by marine animals, leading to serious diseases and death. On the other hand, I certainly believe that the authorities have to adopt more methods to protect the environment. To begin with, the government have more funds to invest in scientific research. When the authorities devote more time and money to conducting experiments, they can gain a comprehensive understanding about the environment. Thus, they may have more opportunities to find solutions to the problems. Moreover, the authorities can set up stricter regulations to limit companies. Since these manufactures may receive serious fines and closure if they violate environmental laws, they would follow regulations to avoid the punishment. By doing so, they can reduce the pollution effectively and efficiently. In conclusion, although people may cause several negative impacts on the environment, I firmly argue that the government should do more to address the issue.