Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own

There is ongoing interest in students’ career choices. Many argue that college students should choose a course based on their interests, whereas others believe they must choose disciplines with more prospects. I will analyse both perspectives and delineate my opinion, supported with relevant examples. On one hand, an essential reason young individuals must apply to the university courses they desire is that doing so fosters success. By this, I mean when the choice is a field of genuine interest, commendable success is more often than not attained. They are often equipped with the motivation, commitment, determination and passion required to succeed. For example, a study conducted in Nigeria found that three-quarters of students with excellent academic merit reported that their chosen disciplines were areas of unwavering interest, which contributed immensely to their breakthrough. As a result, they enjoyed better employment opportunities after graduation. On the other hand, it is also imperative to consider the highly competitive job market, and choose disciplines with better employment opportunities and career prospects. To buttress this, subjects like sciences, technology, engineering, mathematics, etc., are currently leading in the labour market. Studying them in college prepares individuals to take up future highly paid jobs that require graduates with specialised skills in the above-mentioned areas. For instance, research conducted in America supported this view. Silver Valley, a region characterised by young entrepreneurs and technological advancement, revealed that most of the population studied sciences and technology at university. It was a traditional pathway to a favourable career. In conclusion, I believe the young population ought to choose a college discipline based on personal interest, as this contributes to academic excellence and subsequent excellent employment. However, if they do not have any preconceived area of interest, it is also acceptable to encourage them select subjects with prospective career advancement