Some countries encourage foreign companies to open in their country. Many people think that the government should focus on encouraging local business rather than foreign businesses. To what extent do you agree?

It is widely acknowledged that some nations provide many opportunities for international companies to commence trade in their countries. While a significant number of the population believes that authorities ought to facilitate local business owners, I strongly argue that governments must assist foreign companies in commencing trade because foreign companies can bring their know-how to these countries. This essay will elaborate on my position with relevant arguments and examples. On the one hand, in today's highly competitive world, nations try to improve their trade capacity and skills that boost the economy, and global firms provide broad opportunities for countries to gain experience and knowledge. This is because international companies have extensive regulations and networks that optimize their trade, which has given rise to countries ' know-how in trade. As a result, this knowledge creates significant value for countries, enabling them to train their workforce and regulate their systems. For instance, foreign companies, such as Ford and Tesla, build many factories in Eastern Europe, where countries suffer from an excessive amount of accidents, enabling them to implement these foreign companies ' regulations to strengthen their health and safety legislation. Therefore, foreign firms play an important role in developing know-how. On the other hand, global firms attract many people's attention to shop at their store, because they are able to spend an enormous amount of money for advertising, which local business owners cannot afford. In addition, the brand perception, fuelled by advertising on social media, triggers people to purchase more items from these international companies. As a result, local business owners shut down their stores due to low interest. To illustrate, international clothes companies, such as Tommy Hilfiger and Lacoste, have many stores in some countries, where people prefer purchasing from these stores rather than from local clothes companies. Hence, local companies cannot compete with these foreign companies, leading them to find themselves in economic trouble. In conclusion, while some people believe that the government ought to support local owners, I firmly maintain that nations can benefit from gaining experience in trade and strengthening their regulations. This is because these values are vital for their workforce and trade volume.