Access to clean water is a basic human right. Therefore every home should have a water supply that is provided free of charge. Do you agree or disagree?

. I disagree with the idea, that is, a water supply should not be completely free to access for every home. First, even with the support from the government, the water suppliers utility firms still need to make profit to maintain their companies. If the water suppliers do not have enough cash to run their businesses, they would try to reduce the cost from every manufacturing supply and infrastructure process. This situation may reduce quantity and efficiency in the manufacturing supply process and lead to the a decline of the overall water quantity. Also, it would incur the deduction maintainance of the facilities undermine facility maintenance, which may result in more system and infrastructure breakdowns occurring. Another concern is about how corruption might influence lower income staff, luring them or the managers to make money illegally from the cash deposit of the company. Therefore, in the aspect of the water suppliers, providing free water supply is not beneficial for them, and the negative consequences would finally diffuse to the customers, who would suffer as a consequence from the outcome. Second, fee water supply may have a negative side effect for people, making them not value and save water supplies. When the water usage is closely related to the charge, it would let people learn and focus on how much water they have used in daily life. However, if they don’t need to pay the water bill of the water anymore, they may lose appreciation of the value and worth of their daily water usage, causing the waste of the water resource. Because people often care about their self-interest most, they would be encouraged and pushed not to waste water and utilize the resources more reasonably if they are charged of the water supply. Ultimately, the people would also be harmed from the waste of water supplies, causing water shortage. In summary, offering water without any payment does not fit the practical situation, regardless of suppliers, water as a resource, or the citizens. Hence, I oppose the perspective that the water supply should be free for every household.