Should government invest more money in public transport instead of building more roads?

Is it worth investing on public transport? Over the years, a very important aspect of society, such as mobility across the city, has undergone significant transformations, sparking debates about whether these changes have been beneficial or detrimental. Should the government invest more money in public transport or building more roads? While it is true that public transport has reduced their schedules, creating difficulties for many to arrive at their destinations, it is also important to consider that roads gets collapsed, being another reason why investing in public works is highly important. From my perspective, recognizing these factors is essential to ensure society an eficent service. Firstly, majority of people arrive at their duties by public transport, connecting them to Jobs, education and opportunities. Nowadays buses’ schedules have been reduced considerably and as a result, it is highly difficult to arrive at a destination on time. On account of this, one of the main advantages of investing resources in public transportation is that it can stimulate economic growth. Secondly, public transport plays a crucial role in reducing greenhouse gas emissions. Buses, trains and subway allows extra people to move across the city on the same means, thereby mitigating climate change. In addition, investing in cleaner transit options – such as electric buses- helps reduce air pollution as well as air quality. In contrast, although many argue that public transport is highly important, private vehicles are essential. In rural areas, efficent roads are crucial for conveying products and goods, for example. Moreover, making extra roads can benefit not only rural jobs but also tourism, as well as traffic congestion and accidents. Nevertheless, while it is true that private transport and more roads are important for a reduced part of society, it is also important to consider what is essential for majority, being that public transportation. In conclusion, while investing in roads can benefit a partial part of the population in their duties, spending money on public transport is highly essential due to the economic and ambiental advantages. I personally believe that investing in this is the best way to achieve a superior society and enviroment.