Advertising encourages people to buy things they do not really need. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, advertising is everywhere around us and it is play a big role in our daily life. Some people believe that advertisment make people to buy things which they do not need. I am agree with this opinion to a large extent, although there is some exceptions. Firstly, advertising companies spend a lot of money to make their products look attractive. For example, they use famous celebrities and beautiful images so that peoples feel they must have the product. Because of this, many customer buy expensive items like new phones or clothes even when their old ones are still working good. This shows that advertising can create a desire that is not really necessary. Secondly, advertisements often make people to compare themselves with others. When someone see an advertisment of a luxury car or a big house, they start to feel that their life is not enough. As a result, they spend money on things just to feel better about themself, which is a waste of money in my opinion. On the other hand, we can not say that all advertising is bad. Sometimes advertisements give useful informations about new products or services that can improve our life. For instance, an advertisment about a new medicine or a healthy food can be very helpful for the people. In conclusion, although advertising has some benefits, I strongly believe that it mostly encourage people to buy things they do not need. Therefore, people should be more careful and think twice before they buy something because of an advertisment.