Some people argue that primary schools focus too much on formal learning. To what extent do you agree with this opinion? How important do you think it is for children to play as well as learn in theprimary school classroom?

The increasing pressence of elementary schools fuss over on academic learning has become a noticable phonmenon all over the world. While some may disagree with that point, from my perspective, focusing too much on formal learning is inappropriate, and it is vital for children to focus on academic studying and learning. I totally agree with that primary schools focus too much on formal learning. In mordern society, many primary school indeed prioritise academic performence over children’s natural development, leading to over-intensive formal learning. In order to achieve great exam rankings, many primary schools incite students to study hard which directly cause learning burnout and health problems, such as wearing thick glasses, staying up late. These behaviours reduce students’ curiosity about the world, and limit their development of practical and social skills, furthermore, making more nerds instead of people who can really contribute to the society. In my opinion, mixing play with formal study in primary classrooms can make great significance in multiple ways. For individuals, play-based activities such as role-plays and educational puzzles can turn abstract knowledge into graphic experiences, making it easier for children to underestand what they learnt. However, it may also lead to students playing too much to concentrate on their academic study. Moreover, group play encourage kids to communicate, negotiate and cooperate with each other, cultivating their teamwork skills that textboook learning can hardly foster. From a border social level, this can help improve students’ psychological health, and increase health rates in the society. In conclusion, while some primary schools do focus too much on formal learning, such education still has essential value. Play should be combined with classroom study, as it supports children’s full-fledged skills development.