Some parents spend little free time with their children today. Why is this? Who do you think this affects more, parents or children?

Some parents spend little free time with their children today. Why is this? Who do you think this affects more, parents or children? In today’s rapidly evolving world, some argue that parents spend little quality time with their children. I firmly believe that overuse of screens and financial problems are the primary drivers of this issue, which has a more negative impact on children’s lives than parents. One major contributing for a decline in time parents spend with their children is that modern lifestyles compelled them to work long hours to tackle their economic hardship, which has left them with limited opportunities and less energy to spend quality time with their children, consequently leading to serious challenges in children’s lives. Another major reason is that parents spend excessive time on screens which limits their time to participate in various activities, particularly communicating with their offspring. As a result, children prefer spending time with friends instead of interacting their parents. For instance, in developing countries such as Iran, financial problems have forced people to work excessive hours which reduced their family interactions, resulting in poor family ties and social problems such as an increased drug abuse level among young generations. Hence, such reasons play an indispensable role in reducing time that parent spend with their children. This issue brings about detrimental consequences to children’s lives, because parents contribute significantly to shaping children’s outlook on life, developing their essential skills and preparing them for future lives. Thereby, a lack of sufficient and effective communication between children and parents can pose a threat to children’s personal and professional development. For example, children who spend less time with their parent often face a wide range of challenges in social context mainly because they suffer from poor communication, problem-solving and critical thinking skills which hinder their development in various aspects of life. Thus, this issue heavily affects children rather than parents. To sum up, from my perspective, overreliance on social media and economic challenges play a significant role in reducing meaningful time that parents can spend with their children, which yield detrimental outcomes in children’s personal and social lives.