Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer." To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that higher education provider should provide knowledge and skills to their students which are required in their workplace. While others believe that universities should provide access to ideas for its own sake, in terms of whether the course is helpful to an employer. However, I strongly agree that educational institutions should provide practical ideas and skills which are needed for their future workplace, instead of focusing on random courses. First of all, real life experience and knowledge can boost puplis idea about the workplace. Furthermore, higher education providers should encourage regarding hands on experience from their university journey. If graduates get the opportunity to have work experience, while they are studying, it will enhance their practical knowledge. In addition, higher education insitutions should offer mandatory placement opportunities for the students, where they will be able to explore real life skills and ideas for the wokplace. As a result of that graduates would know the culture and skills in terms of their workplace. For instance, most of the universities in the USA recently have kept placement as a mandatory course during the study period. Thus, higher education providers should provide practical knowledge and skills to the graduates, which will boost their ideas about the workplace. However, some others believe that universities should focus on random courses instead of paying attention for their skills development courses. This would just assist graduates to get the pass marks in the university rather than develop ideas and skills which will be needed in their workplace. Although there is no value without hands on experience in the workplace. For example, graduates from political science, do not have any skills or knowledge about the workplace because they do not have any practical course during their studies. Therefore, after graduating from tertiary education institutions, they always struggle to manage a job. In conclusion, while others believe that universities should focus on usual subjects rather than skills and knowledge, I strongly believe that tertiary education providers should pay attention to the subjects which graduates are needed in their workplace.