Some people believe that alcohol should be considered as a drug and made illegal. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, people are more often preferring to drink alcohol. So, it is often argued that alcohol needs to be considered as a drug and made illegal for consumption. While considering alcohol as an illegal substance could increase huge downfall for the business, I would argue that alcohol should be classified as a drug because it affects people's physical and mental health, well-being, and often increases social crimes and road accidents. First of all, consuming alcohol is not the best for our health due to it's negative effects. It causes liver cirrhosis and directly affects our health both physically and mentally. When people consume excessive levels of alcohol in our body, it stops working properly. Moreover, individuals can be reacted as a psychosis, which directly impacts their mental health. It reduces their mental wellbeing. In addition, it creates public health concern as well. If people consume alcohol on the streets without any restrictions, other individuals can be influenced to drink alcohol as well. Subsequently, it raises a concern for public wellbeing, as not only adult people use the streets but also kids have the access for it as well. For instance, the UK made the recent legislation that nobody could consume alcohol on the streets and public places, and it has substantially reduced the percentage of consuming alcohol. Thus, it is of paramount importance for us to consider alcohol as a drug due to its negative impact on our health. On the other hand, making alcohol as an illegal substance and considering it as a drug could impact our economy. A Lot of businesses could shut down as they would lose their licenses for retailing alcohol, or they would not be allowed for selling alcohol. Moreover, individuals could lose their jobs and experience a financial crisis for a period of time. In contrast, consuming excessive levels of alcohol could increase road accidents, and people could lose their lives. Furthermore, social securities can be affected as people would not be able to hold themselves when they are drunk, and adults can commit crimes such as snatching chains, stealing cars to get the funding for buying alcohol. Hence, we should re-think regarding alcohol as a drug and introduce strict laws and rules to mitigate its expansion.