The news about violent crimes may frighten people or, on the contrary, encourage them to commit a crime. Therefore, some believe that these types of news should not be reported in newspapers or on TV. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The information provided by media on serious crime is causing a sense of fear among individuals. On the other hand, it is also believed that it is somehow, contributing people to get involved in such serious crimes. As a result, some people suggests that such crimes should not be documented by media. This issue has sparked considerable debate and I partially agree with it. This, essay will present well-supported arguments to justify my stance. Firstly, one of the most compelling reasons is that because of violent news inhabitants do not feel safe in society. This feeling of continuous terror creates a sense of discontentment in the community. Secondly, displaying such crimes on TV can have a negative effect on people mental health. For instance, a study was performed at Yale University in which one group of people was asked to see only crime reports. However, other group enjoyed all type of documentaries. The study suggests some astonishing results. It was observed that those who see crime reports were in constant state of fear. Moreover, some of them also suffered from OCD and anxiety later on in their lives. On the other hand, it is also observed that documenting crime by news is inclining people to commit them. One of the factor, is that news are seen by every kind of people and if criminal minded people see such things they may get new ideas and ways. For example, it is observed that people get ideas of committing suicide or murders from watching criminal thrillers. In my opinion, reporting crimes is causing terror among people. While, it is also contributing people inclination towards them But, we cannot ignore the fact that news about such crime is helping people by providing awareness and taking necessary precautions. Apart from that, when criminals get punishments it also warns other individuals and keep them away from performing such things. Government should make policies and rules for crime media for the safety of its inhabitants and to refrain others from getting involved in such things. Thus, adopting a balanced approach is necessary for the betterment of society.