In recent years, there has been a significant increase in the consumption of processed and fast food worldwide. Why is this so? What effect does it have on the individual and the society?

Nowadays, Fast food and processed industries have been increased rapidly all over the world. People are significantly consuming fast food and process food. This is increasing because of having less time for exercise and availablity of processed food and junk food. As a result, it is increasing health risk and spending significant amount of money on public healthcare. This essay will analyze this underlying reason and outline the detrimental impacts on both individual and society. The underlying reason behind this behaviour is that individuals do not have enough time to cook their meal. They are allocated with their busy schedule such as jobs, businesses and taking care of their kids. As a result, they rely on processed and fast food. In addition, it is much easier to purchase junk food rather than cooking. It saves meal preparation time and enegry. Same as for processed food which is convenient for buying from supermarket. For example, the European people mostly prefers fast food and processed food as they believe, it saves their time and they can focus on their work and other activities. Furthermore, Junk food and processed food is often cheaper compared to grocery. Individuals can save more money on this. Thus, there is a significant increase in the consumption of ready-made and junk food. Turning to the consequences, this trend breeds severe issues for both individual and the wider community. First of all, people experience substantial health issues while consuming junk food and processed food. It increases not only blood pressure but also diabetes. Most of the time people does not have sufficient time for doing exercise. Consequently, they experience obesity and it directly affects on their health. For example, individuals from Texas city, spend their half of the day in a restaurent. They barely get time for cooking and excercise. As a result, people have severe health issues which lead them to spend substantial amount of money for their health issues. Moreover, the wider community suffer significantly for consuming fast food and processed food. Government spend huge amount on public healthcare. The cost of the treatement also increase as a huge number of people consume fast food. Therefore, the obesity is increasing significantly all over the world and the expenses of healthcare are increasing compared to the past. In conclusion, the consumption of junk food and processed food is increasing beacuse of their availablity and poor time management for individuals which are causing significant health risks and putting pressure on public healthcare system.