It is observed that not enough students are chossing to study science? What are the causes of this? What are the effects on society.

It is increasingly observed that fewer students are studying science subjects at school and university. The main cause is the higher cost involved in pursuing science subjects, and this may lead to the shortage of future scientist in medical field. One of the primary reasons of choosing different streams by students is that science education is not affordable by everyone. Most of students who belong to a middle-class family, have their interest in studying these subjects, but due to the high fee, expensive books, and different laboratory experiments made it difficult for them to bear such costs. As a result, students choose other steams such as arts, commerce and vocational courses, which are comparatively cheaper than science. Apart from that, science subjects are quite challenging and demanding. Students have to sacrifice several years to study different aspects, and after that they have to give exams to get license in their field. That is why, students find it more stressful and opt easier options for them. This trend can have serious consequences for society. If fewer students study science then there will be a shortage in certain fields such as medicine, pharmacy, and in scientific research. This means fewer people will be available to conduct research, invent new medicines, and cure diseases immediately. Nowadays, people enjoy a better life expectancy, and free from diseases, but the shortage of these professionals will create more challenge for society. Also, the lack of these experts may slow down the technological advancements, and weaken society's ability to face health emergencies. In conclusion, the high cost is the major issue behind the declining number of students in science field. If this issue is not address properly, then society may have to face severe consequences in the future.